Where to Vote? What Are We Voting On?

More election Information: Ward 5 residents to vote at new Goodyear School instead of Kennedy School.

The ballot for the Nov. 8 election is set. You know .

There’s also a question on the ballot asking whether you want the city to increase the number of available to restaurants with 50 or more seats by eight.

Mayor Scott Galvin, the City Council and the city License Commission see the additional licenses as a way to encourage business in the city, City Clerk William Campbell told Woburn Patch. The city has issued 41 licenses to restaurants, including hotels, Campbell said; eight licenses to package stores and two to veterans’ organizations. The vote on the ballot question is non-binding, Campbell; it lets the city know how voters feel about the question.

Here’s all the information you need about when and where to vote:

Ward 5 voters will be voting at the new instead of the . The city clerk’s office will be sending a notice to that effect to Ward 5 voters, Campbell told Woburn Patch. Voters in both Ward 5 precincts voted at the Kennedy while the new Goodyear was being built. They will vote in the Goodyear gym.

Where voters vote, by ward and precinct:

Ward 1, Precinct 1—, library;

Ward 1, Precinct 2—, gym;

Ward 2, Precincts 1 and 2—;

Ward 3, Precincts 1 and 2—, gym;

Ward 4, Precinct 1—, gym;

Ward 4, Precinct 2—, gym;

Ward 5, Precincts 1 and 2—, gym;

Ward 6, Precincts 1 and 2—, gym; and

Ward 7, Precincts 1 and 2—, gym.

The polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on election day.

Although voters here usually do not need identification, it’s better to bring ID, particularly in two cases, Campbell said:  if you neglected to either fill out a census form or to provide the last four digits of your Social Security number if you registered by mail. A driver’s license or a utility bill with your name and address on it qualify as identification, he said.

Seven candidates are vying for .  Four are incumbents:  Patricia Chisholm, Christopher Kisiel, Denis Russell and John Wells. The three non-incumbents are Maryann Chorlton, Brett Gonsalves and Frederick Metters. School Committee member Joseph Crowley is not running for reelection.

Candidates are listed in two groups on the ballot:  alphabetically, with the incumbent or incumbents’ names first.

The top two School Committee vote-getters are elected for four-year terms, Campbell explained; the others for two-year terms.

Mayor Scott Galvin is running unopposed.

The city’s two incumbent aldermen-at-large are running unopposed:  Paul Denaro and Richard Haggerty.

In three wards, the incumbent seeking to retain his or her seat faces a challenger. Those candidates:  In Ward 1, Rosa DiTucci, incumbent, and Alfio Malone; Ward 4, Michael Anderson, incumbent, and Robert Cremone; and Ward 7, Raymond Drapeau, incumbent, and Charles Viola.

Four ward aldermen are running unopposed:  Richard Gately, Jr., in Ward 2; Mark Gaffney in Ward 3; Darlene Mercer-Bruen in Ward 5; and Michael Raymond in Ward 6.

Any redistricting done by state legislators as a result of the most recent census would not take effect, Campbell said, until Dec. 31.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »